EAST AFRICA GAMES: M7 Flags Off FEASSSA Contingent, Over 840 Students To Represent Uganda

President Museveni flagging off FEASSSA contingent at Entebbe

By: Nsereko Musoke Isa

The head of State of the Republic of Uganda, His Excellence Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has today Tuesday, the 13th August 2019 flagged off team Uganda for the 18th edition of the Federation of East African Secondary Schools Sports Association (FEASSSA) Games at State House Entebbe.

This year’s edition will start on Saturday, the 16th August, in Arusha-Tanzania. Team Uganda will complete in seven sports disciplines and will set off this night to beat the reporting date of Friday, the 15th with the opening ceremony set for the following day.

St Noa Girls, Netball team

In football boys, the region’s defending champion Buddo SS will face Standard High-Zana in group A, as St. Mary’s Kitende stage battles against three foreigners in pull C.

On Tuesday, the 6th August 2019, the football draws of the 18th edition were held at Old Kampala Secondary School. Uganda’s will be represented by four teams who best performed in the recently concluded Copa Coca-Cola championship in Jinja.

St Mary’s Kitende, 2019 Copa Coca cola champions

Group A will have an all Uganda affair tie between the East African defending champion and Uganda’s third ranked Buddo SS and Standard High-Zana who will also battle Tanzania’s Lindi SS and St Anthony of Kenya.

In group B, another Ugandan team who ranked 2nd in the National pinnacle schools tournament (Copa Coca-Cola) will face LNL Ngonzi of Burundi, Vwavwa (Tanzania), Alliance (Tanzania) and Rwanda’s LDK who is also the tourney’s runners. LDK lost 4-3 in penalties after a goalless draw to Buddo SS in last year’s final in Musanze, the northern district of Rwanda.

Uganda’s champion and the all time East African champion St Mary’s Kitende will started her tittle hunt in group C where she will face Kenya’s Dagoreti, Ruwuiko from Tanzania and Malawi (Malawi).

St Mary’s Kitende and Buddo SS are the top favorites for this year’s edition. Thirteen teams (13) pitted into two groups will compete this year five more than last year’s participants.

The championship will start on 15th – 25th August in Arusha, Tanzani

About Kayiira Jackson 332 Articles
An ardent sports follower, lover and analyst

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.