Teams Set Off Tonight To Arusha For The 18th Edition Of FEASSSA Games

By: Nsereko Musoke Isa

Over 840 students will leave Uganda to Arusha-Tanzania for the famous and prestigious Federation of East African Secondary Schools Sports Association (FEASSSA) Games.

This follows the amazing send off (flag off) ceremony held today Tuesday, the 13th August 2019 at State House in Entebbe. The head of State, His Excellence Yoweri Kaguta Museveni graced the event.

Three teams who include St. Noa Girl’s School-Zana, St. Mary’s Kitende and Nabisunsa Girls School, who took up Buddo’s slot following her sudden drop out, will represent Uganda in girls basketball championship.

The East African girls’ basketball defending champions, Buddo SS, gave up their slot, seemingly focusing on winning the netball championship in the forthcoming Federation of East African Secondary Schools Sports Association (FEASSSA) games in Arusha, Tanzania.

Buddo SS have won the East African basketball trophy for two consecutive years, that is, in 2017 and 2018 hosted in Gulu (Uganda) and Musanze (Rwanda) respectively, and finished third in the national championship.

However, they (Buddo) confirmed their withdraw, and this paved way for Nabisunsa Girls School to get the slot.

On Tuesday 6th, August 2019, at Old Kampala Secondary School, draws were held, and confirmed that twelve (12) teams will participate in two (2) groups of six in this highly awaited 18th edition of the FEASSA games.

Uganda’s national champions, St Mary’s Kitende, were pitted in Group A with another Ugandan team in Nabisunsa Girls School, Kenya’s Kayatiwi, Ste. Bernatte (Rwanda), Joseph and Mary (Tanzania) and Olukeswa.

Uganda’s number two, St Noa Girls Secondary School, Zana will start their tourney’s journey in Group B, alongside Kenya’s Burubuury, Machame (Tanzania), Juhindi (Tanzania), LDK (Rwanda), and St Theresa Gitega (Burundi).

The entire team Uganda was flagged on the 13th of August 2019, before departure and the arrived date is slated for 15th August.

This year’s FEASSA edition will run from 16th to 25th August 2019 in Arusha, Tanzania.

Full Groups:

Group A:

1. St Mary’s Kitende.
2.Ste. Bernatte.
3. Joseph & Mary.
4. Olukeswa.
5. Nabisunsa Girls.
6. Kayatiwi.

Group B:

1.St Noa Girls.
2. Burubuury.
3. Machame.
4. Juhindi.
5. LDK.
6. St Theresa’s Gitega.

About Kayiira Jackson 332 Articles
An ardent sports follower, lover and analyst

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.