Cricket: Uganda School Select Team Flagged Off To Rwanda For Youth Tourney

Uganda Cricket Association in conjunction with National Council of Sports (NCS) sent off the Schools’ Select Team to Rwanda for Quadrangular youth series slated for September 23rd to 27th 2019.

The best chosen players from the 2019 edition of schools’ cricket week made a team of 14 players who got chance to expose their talent the more as the Association prepare the strongest team for 2021 U19 world cup qualifiers.

I Thank UCA for bringing this new crop of talents, as the others worn out, these will be able to replace, because with no young ones, the future would be in trouble.” David Katende assistant General Secretary technical at NCS quoted while flagging off the contingent on Friday evening at NCS offices Lugogo.

To the youngsters, let me first congrat you for making it to the final 14, now it’s an opportunity for you to use the chance very well and expose your talent, you have started the journey, so I appeal to you to take your sport very serious and academies as well” David Katende added.

Team posse for a group photo with AGS David Katende

The Quadrangular youth series is an invitation tournament that will feature four teams, two from Uganda, which are Schools select and Nyakasura school while the others two will come from Rwanda and the tournament which is will be played under the T20 format will be enjoyed at Gahanga Oval.

The team of 14 will be guided by Habib Mugalula as head coach and and to be captained by Aine Aaron from Buddo Kings college and he is confident with the team.

It’s my pleasure to lead a team of talented individuals, they know the game, trained hard and I would like to say that the country is in safe hands” Aine while speaking to media.

The team will go by bus in Volocano bus to Rwanda and they will set off on Sunday.

Full team;

Aine Aaron (Capt – Buddo Kings college), Mohammed Yakubu (Makerere College),Kakuru Cyrus (Busoga College Mwiri),Waiswa Anderson (Busoga College Mwiri),Puwata Ronald (Jinja SS),Pius Oloka (Jinja SS),Kinda Cyrus (Jinja SS),Sohela Richard (Jinja SS), Joseph Baguma(Nyakasura School),Brian Asaba(Nyakasura School),Kakaire Joel(Masaka SS), Ronald Lutaaya(Masaka SS)Eric Mukisa(Busoga College Mwiri), Christable Abenaitwe(Ntare school)

Head coach: Habib Mugalula

Team Manager: Denis Musali.

About Kayiira Jackson 263 Articles
An ardent sports follower, lover and analyst

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.